Do Inalla Tokens Have Etb

Do Inalla Tokens Have Etb

Welcome to another exciting blog post where we dive into the wonderful world of Magic: The Gathering. Today, we are going to explore the fascinating topic of Inalla tokens and their interaction with the ETB mechanic.

Whether you’re a newbie or a seasoned Magic player, this article aims to provide insightful information that will keep you engaged from start to finish. So let’s jump right in!


Inalla, Archmagi Ritualist is a legendary creature from the Commander 2017 set and serves as the face commander of the “Vampiric Bloodlust” preconstructed deck. One of the deck’s key strategies revolves around creating and utilizing tokens. But what exactly is an ETB, and how does it relate to the Inalla tokens? Let’s find out!

What is ETB?

ETB stands for “enters the battlefield,” and it refers to a trigger mechanic in Magic: The Gathering. Whenever a permanent enters the battlefield, various effects can be triggered. These effects could range from gaining life, drawing cards, or even destroying creatures. ETB triggers add an extra layer of depth and strategy to the game, allowing players to take advantage of creatures and other permanents as soon as they hit the battlefield.

Inalla’s Token Creation

Inalla’s ability lets you create tokens that are copies of other creatures you control. These tokens have a unique twist – they are non-legendary. This means you can create multiple copies of powerful legendary creatures without violating the “legend rule” which states that you can’t have two legendary permanents with the same name on the battlefield under your control.

Now, the question arises – do these Inalla tokens trigger ETB effects? The answer is “yes,” they absolutely do! When an Inalla token enters the battlefield, it inherits all the characteristics and abilities of the creature it was copied from, including any ETB triggers that creature may have had.

This opens up a world of possibilities for players using the Inalla deck, allowing them to create an army of tokens that can trigger powerful effects.

Synergizing with ETB Effects

Creating tokens that trigger ETB effects can be a game-changer in Magic: The Gathering. Let’s take a closer look at some popular ETB creatures and how they synergize with Inalla’s token creation.


Mulldrifter is a fan-favorite creature that draws you two cards when it enters the battlefield. With Inalla’s ability, you can create multiple Mulldrifters, which means drawing even more cards! This combination allows you to dig through your deck, find the cards you need, and maintain a healthy hand size. It’s a fantastic way to gain card advantage and keep your opponents on their toes.

Gray Merchant of Asphodel

Gray Merchant of Asphodel, also known as Gary, is a notorious creature in Commander format decks. When Gary enters the battlefield, each opponent loses life equal to the number of Swamps you control, and you gain life equal to the life lost this way.

With Inalla’s token creation, you can copy Gray Merchant of Asphodel and drain massive amounts of life from your opponents, while reaping the benefits with increased life gain. It’s a devastating combo that can quickly turn the tides in your favor.

Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker

Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker is a game-altering creature that allows you to create a copy of another creature you control. By combining Kiki-Jiki’s ability with Inalla’s token creation, you can create an infinite loop of creature copies, leading to an explosive board state.

This combo opens up endless possibilities, allowing you to abuse various ETB triggers and overwhelm your opponents with an army of clones.

Interaction with Flickering

Now that we’ve explored the ETB triggers within the Inalla deck let’s touch upon a related mechanic called flickering. Flickering involves temporarily removing a permanent from the battlefield and returning it immediately, which triggers its ETB effect once again. Inalla tokens can interact with flickering in intriguing ways.

Deadeye Navigator

Deadeye Navigator is a powerful creature that allows you to flicker other creatures you control. By activating Deadeye Navigator’s ability and targeting an Inalla token, you can constantly flicker and re-enter the battlefield with a new trigger.

This enables you to multiply the effects of your creatures and generate incredible advantages. Combining Inalla tokens, Deadeye Navigator, and ETB creatures can create a whirlwind of triggers that can overwhelm any opponent.

Conjurer’s Closet

Conjurer’s Closet is another flickering card that lets you exile a creature you control and return it at the beginning of your end step. This creates a similar effect to Deadeye Navigator, allowing you to repeatedly trigger ETB effects.

Pairing Conjurer’s Closet with Inalla tokens can lead to exponential value and put you in a commanding position during the game. Your opponents will have to think twice before countering your Inalla deck’s strategies.


Inalla tokens not only have ETB effects but can also trigger powerful synergies with other cards in Magic: The Gathering. By copying creatures with remarkable ETB triggers and utilizing flickering mechanics, you can create an unstoppable force on the battlefield.

The Inalla deck offers a unique playstyle that rewards players with creative and powerful combinations. As you delve deeper into the world of Magic: The Gathering, keep exploring different cards, learning new interactions, and experimenting with various strategies.

The potential for exciting gameplay is limitless, and Inalla tokens are just the tip of the iceberg. So gather your cards, build your deck, and let the magic unfold as your Inalla tokens have their own ETB party!


Do Inalla tokens have ETB (Enters the Battlefield) effects?

Yes, Inalla tokens created by the Inalla, Archmage Ritualist Commander card have their own ETB effects. These effects trigger when the token enters the battlefield.

What is Inalla, Archmage Ritualist’s ability?

Inalla’s ability is a triggered ability that allows you to pay mana and tap the creature to create a token that’s a copy of the creature. The token has haste and the ability to exile it at the end of the turn.

Are the ETB effects of Inalla tokens the same as the original creature’s ETB effects?

No, the ETB effects of Inalla tokens are separate from the original creature’s ETB effects. The token’s ability will trigger when it enters the battlefield, and it will only copy the original creature’s base characteristics (name, power, toughness) unless specified otherwise.

Can I copy a creature with an “Enters the Battlefield” triggered ability using Inalla’s ability?

Yes, you can copy a creature with an ETB triggered ability using Inalla’s ability. The token will have its own ETB effect triggered when it enters the battlefield.

Do Inalla tokens have summoning sickness?

No, Inalla tokens do not have summoning sickness. They have haste, which means they can attack and tap for abilities as soon as they enter the battlefield.

Can I stack multiple ETB effects from different Inalla tokens?

Yes, if you have multiple Inalla tokens enter the battlefield, each token’s ETB effect will trigger separately. You can stack these triggers and resolve them in the order of your choice.

Do Inalla tokens stay on the battlefield permanently?

No, Inalla tokens created by her ability will be exiled at the end of the turn. This is part of the token’s ability and helps balance the powerful effects you can generate with Inalla’s ability.